Mayo Manchester win 2016 International Award

Mayo Manchester award the 2016 International Mayo People of the Year

Tony Hennigan the director of the Mayo Manchester Tourism and Business group has just been announced as the winner of the 2016 Michael Davitt Internation award at a press reception at Breaffy House Resort, Castlebar.

Mr Hennigan whose roots stem from Attymass in North Mayo had been nominated for the award by Dr Stephen Dumford the director of the award winning 'In Humberts Landing' reinactment group. The renown historian had nominated Mr Hennigan and the Mayo Manchester group for their work in developing Tourism and Business links between Mayo and Manchester.

The group who were set up the group in 2011 have established the annual week long Mayo Manchester Tradfest which are now in their fourth year.and helping to set up and promote the worldwide Mayo Day with They have also helped bring several shows to the UK including the sell out 'Emigrants Farewell' ave along with last years sell out 'Heroes for Hospice' theatre production.

When asked about how he felt about winning the award Tony replied “I am very honoured to receive the award on behalf of everyone involved in our annual week long Mayo Manchester Tradfest which next year takes place from the 3-9 August 2017 over the August bank holiday. There were over 500 performers from Mayo and Manchester involved in last years event and they all deserve the award for their support.”

The cathaoirleach of Mayo County Council, Councillor Al McDonnell, officiated at the announcement of the 2016 Mayo People of The Year Awards at the press reception this evening at Breaffy House Resort, Castlebar and Irish TV covered the event for Mayo County Matters.

This is the 24th Mayo People's awards and is organised by the Mayo Rehab Group based in Castlebar. The awards are supported by Mayo County Council and The Connaught Telegraph. The annual Gala banquet which this year is being staged on Saturday 26 November at Breaffy House Resort Hotel has raised in excess of €200,000 since its launch for service users of RehabCare at their headquarters in Castlebar.

The compere for the awards night will be Henry McGlade of Irish TV, and music will be supplied by The Brose Walsh Band.
The 2016 recipients are as follows.
Outstanding Sports Achievement Award
Nicholas Quinn, the Olympic breaststroke swimmer who represented Ireland, Mayo and Castlebar at the 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Hall of Fame
Fr. Frank Fahey, Ballintubber Abbey
Young People of the Year Award
Mayo Girls Association Football Team
Michael Davitt International Award
Tony Hennigan, Mayo Manchester Tourism and Business group
Sports Club Award
Ballina Town Ladies Football Club
Gradam na Gaeilge Award
Séamus Ó Dubhthaigh, Aghamore
Mayo Awards
1. Eamonn Keaveney, the Claremorris teacher who broke the world record for the longest barefoot walk and raised almost €30,000 for Pieta House.
2. Newport Sea Angling Club which this year celebrate their 50th anniversary, confirming its position as one of Ireland’s oldest sea fishing clubs.
3. George Lee, Kiltimagh, the founder and musical director of the Mayo Concert Orchestra who retired from the position this month.
4. Crossmolina-Bord na Mona-ESB Commemorative Committee. a group, consisting of 10 former Bord na Mona-ESB workers, which came together in September 2009 to acknowledge the contribution made by their fellow workers over 60 years in north Mayo.
5. Chris Barnicle and group from Ballintubber which compiled the 360-page book ‘Ballintubber Families Down The Years’ - a study of Ballintubber families based on the 1911 census.
6. Richard Heraty, Castlebar, a Special Olympics volunteer since 2001
7. Janet Hinchion, Claremorris, who since 2008 has been working voluntarily in the area of prevention and elimination of child labour in Kitui, Kenya.
8. Sisters Caroline McLoughlin and Jacqui McCormack for their work with the Mayo Parkinson’s Association.